Annika Gets Relief - USGA Rules Video

July 29, 2014
Jim Lee (British Columbia Golf)

Annika Sorenstam was faced with an unplayable situation during the 2003 US Women's Open. Her shot to the 18th green came to rest under a spectator fence, and behind the scoreboard. Both were ruled to be temporary immovable objects, but which one of these would apply to the ruling? In this video from the USGA you'll hear the rules official explain the ruling to Annika and see how her recovery shot turns out. See how Rule 24 is applied in this situation. 

Watch the video