An Exception To The Rule

The Immovable Obstruction rule in golf (24-2) can be of assistance to golfers who find their ball in a nasty spot but due to a course 'Obstruction' they are denied a reasonable opportunity to play a shot. 

This is when the rules can be of help to golfers...unless of course they stretch the rule to excess, that's when THE EXCEPTION comes into play.

Rule 24-2. Immovable Obstruction - says in part;

"b. Relief
Except when the ball is in a water hazard or a lateral water hazard, a player may take relief from interference by an immovable obstruction as follows: (i)Through the Green: IF THE BALL LIES THROUGH THE GREEN, THE PLAYER MUST LIFT THE BALL AND DROP IT, WITHOUT PENALTY, WITHIN ONE CLUB-LENGTH OF AND NOT NEARER THE HOLE THAN THE NEAREST POINT OF RELIEF

This sounds like a very cool break to get in some cases, EXCEPT...that it must be done within reason. 

That's where the SCGA Rules Crew comes in. Watch this video to see an example of someone stretching the rule and falling prey to THE EXCEPTION.

Watch The Video